Shot Of Life

Alcoholics Anonymous

Opening Up To The World

In reading the classic book of John Bradshaw Healing the Shame That Binds You , I was reminded that it is in opening up to others that you can heal yourself. Toxic shame fractures your identity to the core because in essence one is always trying to be more than human, or being subhuman. We have forgotten how to accept one's self.

But it is in opening to others, talking about your pain, that one can return to the self. I am new to this and I am trying my best to understand it, but at the same time I realize that it goes beyond words.

I once attended a silent retreat, hosted by Opus Dei. In one of the talks, it was said by the retreat coordinator that God speaks to you through other people. And I think I learned a little more about that yesterday. God speaks to me through these other people, trying to help me. He speaks to me through others, and thus it is imperative to always open up to others and share and interact with others.

By speaking about it, one is able to free one's self from isolation. The feeling is there, the presence of God is there. But in fact, I should cherish the fact that the presence of God is actually everywhere.

Thank you.

Medicine

I also like how one of the members spoke about how it is a daily medicine, for your disease. If people take daily medicine for maintenance of the blood pressure, this is a form of medicine to keep you sober and away from alcohol.

With the help of God, I hope I can continue on my journey with consistency. I surrender my will to Him, and I offer myself as an instrument of His will. I am not a saint, but I will try my best to maintain a relationship with my Higher Power.