Shot Of Life

Artist Project for 2023

Music Channel and Page

For many years I have been wanting to become active in making music and sharing music at least online. At most, I'd like to perform live even in just simple and modest venues. The idea is to be able to express myself, my art and my music FOR FUN.

After 8 years of doing music professionally in various roles and capacities, I realized that I didn't have to make money from it to derive joy from it. Music is an art form, and art is about life. I would rather be engaged in life, and create art as a function of being immersed in life. I also feel that just expressing yourself is not enough. Having a mission, being a man for others, contributing to society in various ways, is more meaningful.

I guess what I want my music to do is to share the joy of music. The inspiration, the joy that it gives. Share this joy. Then it becomes less selfish, less self centered. Sharing it to others so others can feel joy. It was a trap to feel that I had to make money from it and be "successful" from it.

Youtube

I have an existing youtube page that I would like to bolster by making it a unique music content channel. I have seen a bunch of these online, with their niche genres, and quirky visuals, they are able to reach people online. I can do something like that, but all the visuals, all the music, resonates and emanates from me, and it always stems from what brings me joy and what it is that I like.

I've been experimenting on combining some footage and music I make, and I will continue to do so and develop my ideas. The important thing here is I can bring to the table as much mediums of art that I can to create the multimedia format which is video. That's why I can shoot videos, take photographs, screenshot and screen record my computer, and use all these footage as raw material for video collage / montage that can accompany my music.

Instagram

I want to learn how to edit some short reels with my original music and some footage or photographs that I took. These short reels can be snippets and snapshots of my life, my art, my expression. My digital art can come into play, and instead of just posting it like any other piece of art, I might as well create something using all the different resources I have. Maybe I will call it and consider it a multimedia collage. - it will contain, snippets of video, found footage, my art, and basically everything I can externalize from my creative inner self; and couple it with the music that I create and explore.

DJing and Live Performance

Perhaps the scariest of them all is the development of the live set and djing that I have always wanted to do, but have not had the full heart and conviction to start it in earnest. I fully enjoy it and I have an idea of the sound that I want to explore and what kind of vibe I want to share, but I am always scared of putting myself out there, and declaring to the world that I want to perform. So many excuses, fears and insecurities.

This has hampered me for years. I have already invested in equipment that I want to master so I can perform electronic music live so in a way I don't have an excuse anymore. It is the internal processes inside me, the insecurities, that are stopping me from going out there and performing and having fun with music again. Performing live and djing are beautiful ways to express one's joy, and one's emotions. I want to be able to perform and share with people the joy of music. In my own terms, with my own weird instruments, and sounds. I hope that this year can finally be the year that I can do it.

Through the will of God maybe I can achieve these hefty creative goals for 2023. Perhaps in being able to deal with these emotions and problems after all these years I can go out there and share the the joy I feel about music to the world.