Shot Of Life

First Weekend Sober

Early Recovery

Today marks a total of 5 days of being alcohol free. It has been quite a journey getting to the decision point of living a life of "trying" and abstaining from alcohol. It may be a gargantuan task, but this task, I've realized is one that requires more than your sheer will and knowledge. It requires your higher power. It also requires humility. It requires a struggle in life. My life has gradually eroded to the point of being unmanageable, and I realize that "willing" my way out of the mess will only leave me disappointed.

Now I am here, to live life a different way from what I know, and I will document my way through it, and be open to the world. This is my Message In A Bottle - and I want anyone who would like to reach out or comment, feel free to do so.

My email is shotoflifeblog@gmail.com

I want to document this process, as I know my memory tends to fail me. I would like to make it a challenge to myself as well, as I know blogging is different from having a journal. This is somewhere in between, because by publishing it to the world I open myself up to the possibility of communicating with others. I learned that I cannot do this alone, and so I start this blog with outmost humility, and with open ears and arms.