Shot Of Life

So Much To Be Thankful For

Today I went to a face to face meeting, and found a pretty interesting group. The time slot is perfect as well. God is really showing me how where I live right now is a special place. Maybe I'm being led to this place so I can truly begin to live a sober life. And there are many things being placed here so that I can focus my life here.

Today is also the first meeting with a sponsor. I officially have a sponsor and he said that there is just so much to be thankful for. And its true. His English was understandable because I had a cousin who married an Australian and he said wow that truly is something to be thankful for.

I was given the literature by the organizer of the face to face meeting today. Again, so much to be thankful for. I just can't believe how lucky I am today. What else do I need to know? What else should happen, for me to realize that there is so much to be thankful for.

I also recognize my addictive mind that likes to fixate on something. It fixates on alcohol, women, relationships, drugs. But that's just the surface of level of it. It fixates on problems, it fixates on work, it fixates on negativity, it fixates on failure, it fixates on rejection, it loves to fixate.

My sponsor said, "sobriety is about having fun". Maybe what he means has something to do with catching myself have these crazy thoughts and fixations, and just realizing that it is what it simply is. Funny ideas of an alcoholic mind.

God please help me be more skillful in my remaining life here on earth. Help me be enlightened with regard to addiction and sobriety. Please help me live the next 24 hours sober, and serve you in the best way I can. Give me the awareness in every moment. And move from moment to moment.

Starting today I will try to put my sobriety on top of everything else. God first, sobriety 2nd.